My Book Collection…

Let’s just say it outright. I am a collector of books. All kinds, all ages, all series, it doesn’t matter. If it’s a book, I will want it. I have the entire Harry Potter series, Twilight series, almost every V.C. Andrews book published, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Harlequinn, Silouhette, plus older books, like The Thorn Birds, some Jane Austin, some Bronte, it really is a random collection.

I have read nowhere near all of my books. I wouldn’t be surprised if I haven’t even read half. I’ve read some books 4 and 5 times. I’ve read my Hunger Games series 3 times in 2 weeks. Thankfully, I lent it out to a co-worker, and I’ve only got one of them back. I won’t read it without the other 2 books. So I have moved on.

I am currently reading the Odd Thomas series by Dean Koontz. I finished the first book, and I do believe I read it once before, possibly borrowed from a library. Now I own the series, as many as I could. I would have had a huge gap in my series if it wasn’t for an ebook. I do not like ebooks, yet I ended up getting it on my iPod. I can’t read the whole series without this one. Plus, there’s another book coming out in a few weeks that I will need to get my hands on, plus the last one that came out. I’m hoping I can get my hands on it…and soon. Though, I have at least 5 books to read before I would get to it.

I am one of those people that can sit for hours upon hours upon hours just reading. I can lose myself in a good book, and be completely lost if it’s REALLY good. The Host by Stephenie Meyer was one of those books. I tuned the whole world out, and found myself IN the story, in my mind. I felt compassion for the main characters, I felt myself in the emotions of Melanie/Wanda. The same is going on with Odd Thomas. I found myself on a roller coaster of emotions, laughing one chapter, and crying the next. I am a wreck when I read. I can go through a bunch of tissues because I get so tuned in to the book. Something that helps this process is good background music. I listen to my iPod when I am reading and it helps me concentrate on the book. I just got the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra playing Queen songs, and I also listen to Meat Loaf’s Bat Out of Hell 1 and 2. I keep the volume just high enough to block out sound, but not so loud that it keeps me from being in my stories. The best time to read is when the kids are sleeping, or when we’re at the waterpark. They are playing, mommy is sitting in a lawn chair reading and getting a tan. Paradise.

If you find yourself lost in a good book, it doesn’t make you a nerd just because you love to read. And it’s not hard to find time to read. If you are on a long train or bus ride, or a passenger in a car, even in the bathroom, you can find time. Take a hot bubble bath and open a good book. Just relax on the couch after the kids are put to bed and read for an hour or so before you pass out for the night. Reading is something that can keep up your intelligence level without having to go back to school. And keep a thesaurus handy for those hard words…I’ve been lucky so far, but I do own one…

Don’t forget, if you do get lost in a book, don’t forget to hydrate. Don’t lose yourself so bad that you forget to eat or drink. I have my cup of coffee next to me…soon to be replaced with juice. I’ve eaten my dinner, I’ve got baseball on, but I soon will be picking up my Forever Odd book and continuing on the journey of Odd Thomas, wherever it leads us…

2 thoughts on “My Book Collection…

  1. Bill says:

    Have read them…… excellent books
    I’m in to James Patterson..

  2. jaimeb76 says:

    I have quite a few of his books in my collection as well. Wonderful author.

Leave a Reply

