Waking up

I got the call from the doctor yesterday, 2 minutes before I left for work. Why do they always call right when you have to leave? I had blood taken a few weeks ago…5 tubes of it. They ran their little tests, and I came back positive for Epstein-Barr Syndrome. You get it from getting Mono. The only time I recall being around someone with it was when I was 19. Well, now I have it for the rest of my life.

One day I’m fine, the next day the world crashes around me. I am more likely to get sick, and when I do, I stay sick for a long time. The only thing that can be done is take antibiotics when it’s time. Also, I’m prone to full body aches, and the only treatment is pain pills. I’m going to be sick forever. There is no cure. 

I know others have worse problems than I do, but this is something I have to live with. A suppressed immune system kind of sucks. Everyone gets sick sometimes. I will get sick more than most people. I will be constantly taking medicines to combat the illnesses I will get. 

At least I know…

Now, I have to live with being sick all the time. Like I haven’t been doing that for 17 years already…

For more information on mononucleosis and Epstein-Barr, go to http://www.webmd.com/a-to-z-guides/infectious-mononucleosis-cause 

I’m not contagious…you can still hug me when I need it…and I need hugs…

One thought on “Waking up

  1. Sorry to read that but I wish I could be there to give you one!

Leave a Reply

